randomberlinchick:

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Official Trailer *NEW (by OptimumReleasing)

I’ve been rereading the Karla Trilogy since 1984; there was even a phase when I read them every summer (this phase lasted about four years). I lost my first edition hardcovers when I moved to Berlin in 2008, and of all the things I lost in that storage facility, these books are the only ones I have replaced. And I think it’s finally time to thank my ex-husband for turning me on to George Smiley. So thanks Mr. Ex, wherever you are, for George Smiley and the best haircuts I ever had.

It is a very good thing that I happen to be editing a paper on adaptations at the moment. While the paper I’m editing is primarily concerned with stage to screen adaptations, the author does provide a useful foundation for examining adaptations in general. I’d quote him here, but the paper hasn’t been published yet, so that wouldn’t be ethical. Suffice it to say that what I’m taking away from his work is that I need to get over my “I love Gary Oldman but he’s not George Smiley” obsession. The more faithful a film adaptation is to a book, the greater the chance that the film doesn’t actually work.

In any case, this looks like a fine film and I’ll be seeing it when it comes to Berlin. And whatever judgement I make about it will be based on its merits as a film, and not on the book that Le Carré wrote (notice I’ve made no reference at all to the Alec Guinness mini-series done by the BBC).

Or at least I’d like to think so.

In fact, I may come back here bitching and moaning about it until you all unfollow me. It remains to be seen …

Leave a Reply

